You are here

Sports & Games

Sports & Games Classes

Bridge - Bidding in the 21st Century (Ages 12 and Up) 06/11/2020 - 08/06/2020 $132.00

This class is for beginners or those who played years ago and would like to update their bidding. You will learn the basics on bidding, whether suit contracts or no trump. Responses to partner's opening bid for major and minor bids, rebids by opener, rebids by responder, overcalls, and take out doubles. We will discuss strategy for playing the hand to make your contract. You will be equipped to play bridge with friends or play at the local duplicate club. You will be able to play hands the first night! This is a wonderful way to make new friends and keep your mind active. Bridge is a game for all ages. $119 plus $13 for book

No class July 2.

Class Times:

Thu Jun 11 2020 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Thu Jun 18 2020 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Thu Jun 25 2020 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Thu Jul 9 2020 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Thu Jul 16 2020 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Thu Jul 23 2020 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Thu Jul 30 2020 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM
Thu Aug 6 2020 09:30 AM - 11:30 AM

Inshore Fishing (Saltwater) University 04/01/2020 - 04/29/2020 $49.00

Louisiana’s Gulf Coast is a destination known for offering a wide variety of exceptional saltwater fishing experiences hard to match anywhere else in North America. This April, whether you are an experienced or inexperienced angler, come expand and share your knowledge with Captain Shane Johnson, operator of Acadian Outdoor Charters. For five consecutive weeks, these 2-hour sessions will bring together our fishing community through the sharing of knowledge and information from trusted and experienced resources, ultimately making us all better anglers. Don’t let this opportunity pass you by! $49

Topics covered:
Water Temperature: The Ultimate Predictor of Seasonal Movements of Fish
Electronics/Sonars
Unlock the mystery of what lies below the water's surface and navigate with pinpoint accuracy.
Artificial and Live Bait Techniques
Get introduced to many of the techniques used along the LA coast, including cast net techniques.
Fishing Tides & Reading Water: Natural and Manmade Current Breaks
Learn how and why current positions fish and makes their hiding spots predictable.
Sense Organs of Fish: Fish Have More Than Eyeballs
Gain insight using a strategic guide based on the 5 sense organs.
Why High-Performance Equipment Makes a Difference
Receive in-depth coverage of baitcasters, rods, knots, fishing lines, hooks, corks and plastics.
Smart Phone Fishing Applications and On-line Resources
Take advantage of intel at your fingertips.
Artificial Reef Systems/Projects for the LA Coastline from the Coastal Conservation Association (CCA)

Class Times:

Wed Apr 1 2020 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Wed Apr 8 2020 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Wed Apr 15 2020 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Wed Apr 22 2020 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Wed Apr 29 2020 6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Self Defense for Women 08/20/2020 - 08/27/2020 $48.00

In an era when crime rates seem to be rising, learning self-defense techniques could be the difference between life and death. This class is designed just for women and will be taught by a woman. Personal safety is not dependent on your size or strength. In this class you will learn several ways to reduce the likelihood of attack. You will learn to change the way you view your surroundings to expedite escape. In addition, you will learn effective ways to avoid confrontation and quick easy-to-remember techniques that may help save your life. $48, ages 15 & up

Class Times:

Thu Aug 20 2020 5:30 PM - 6:30 PM
Thu Aug 27 2020 5:30 PM - 6:30 PM

Self Defense for Women - Option 2 04/02/2020 - 04/09/2020 $48.00

In an era when crime rates seem to be rising, learning self-defense techniques could be the difference between life and death. This class is designed just for women and will be taught by a woman. Personal safety is not dependent on your size or strength. In this class you will learn several ways to reduce the likelihood of attack. You will learn to change the way you view your surroundings to expedite escape. In addition, you will learn effective ways to avoid confrontation and quick easy-to-remember techniques that may help save your life. $48, ages 15 & up

Class Times:

Thu Apr 2 2020 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Thu Apr 9 2020 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Tae Kwon Do 04/07/2020 - 05/19/2020 $54.00

Tae Kwon Do is a martial art that emphasizes (but is not limited to) a variety of blocking and striking techniques as a means of self-defense, physical fitness, and self-discipline. This course will creatively introduce the students to the exciting and challenging art of Tae Kwon Do. No uniform is required. $54, ages 13 & up

Class Times:

Tue Apr 7 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Tue Apr 14 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Tue Apr 21 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Tue Apr 28 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Tue May 5 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Tue May 12 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Tue May 19 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM

Tae Kwon Do 06/23/2020 - 08/04/2020 $54.00

Tae Kwon Do is a martial art that emphasizes (but is not limited to) a variety of blocking and striking techniques as a means of self-defense, physical fitness, and self-discipline. This course will creatively introduce the students to the exciting and challenging art of Tae Kwon Do. No uniform is required. For ages 13 & up.

Class Times:

Tue Jun 23 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Tue Jun 30 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Tue Jul 7 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Tue Jul 14 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Tue Jul 21 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Tue Jul 28 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Tue Aug 4 2020 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM

Need Training?

We are a primary training provider for the Louisiana Incumbent Worker Training Program (IWTP) and a training provider under the Small Business Employee Training Program (SBET).

Through these programs you can get training for your employees — for free.